Main Content Start

Robert “Bob” Stork Named 2020 Entrepreneur of the Year

Robert “Bob” Stork Named 2020 Entrepreneur of the Year

February 26, 2020 Suzanne Seldes

See Entrepreneur of the Year Event Photo Alubum

Robert “Bob” Stork, founder and CEO of Communications International (Ci), has been named Entrepreneur of the Year for 2020 by the Indian River State College (IRSC) Foundation. Stork was recognized for the honor on Wednesday, February 26, at a gala dinner at the Richardson Center, located at IRSC Mueller Campus in Vero Beach. Bank of America is the presenting sponsor of this year’s gala.

Robert "Bob" Stork

An industry veteran with a degree in electrical sciences, Stork has spent his career creating designs and delivering essential emergency systems for federal, state and local governmental agencies throughout the United States and across the globe. With his late partner Howard Culver, Stork founded Communications of Vero Beach in 1975 and grew it into a leading wireless systems integrator specializing in the design and implementation of mission critical communications systems for the federal, state and local public safety, utility and transit industries. In 1979, the company incorporated as Communications International, Inc. (Ci).

“Howard Culver retired in 1982, and Bob was only 32 years old when he acquired the business,” remarks Ann Decker, Executive Director of the IRSC Foundation. “Ci flourished due to Bob’s remarkable entrepreneur spirit and authentic leadership. These qualities, ingrained in him by his parents, led to tremendous growth for the company and for its employees.” Today Ci has nine locations throughout the southeast and  is the largest distributor of Harris public safety radio equipment for the southeastern United States.”

In 2010, Bob Stork transitioned out of the role of company owner, passing the business on to the people who cared about it most—its employees. Today, Ci is a 100% employee-owned company and its employee owners share in the success of the business and have the ability to influence its performance through their individual contributions.

“Bob is not only a successful entrepreneur, he is an incredible philanthropist whose devotion to serving others has made this community a better place for us all,” said Doug Sherman, Treasure Coast market president for Bank of America. “We are delighted to see Bob receive this honor and share his belief that addressing the Treasure Coast’s greatest issues, including workforce development and community development, will help this region thrive.”

Stork is active in numerous community, church, and charitable organizations, and served on the executive board of Florida TaxWatch, a private, non-profit, non-partisan research institute that promotes the productivity and accountability of Florida government. He also serves as Trustee of Florida Polytechnic University. During his career, Stork has served in many key advisory and leadership positions including appointment to the State Governmental Efficiency Task Force by the Senate President, and to the Florida Task Force Initiative on Gang Reduction by the Attorney General. In 2010, he was distinguished as Citizen of the Year by the Brevard County Sheriff’s Office in recognition of his caring and compassionate actions for Brevard County’s children by supporting many Sheriff’s Office initiatives to protect them. He also earned the honor of Special Deputy by the Sheriff of Broward County.

Stork resides in Vero Beach with his wife Carmen. They have two children, Robyn and Ryan, and eight grandchildren.

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award program recognizes the entrepreneurial spirit, business excellence, and community involvement—central elements of the Dan K. Richardson Entrepreneurship Program established by the IRSC Foundation and 13 other founding members to promote awareness and appreciation of the free enterprise system. Nominations for the Entrepreneur of the Year can be made at

For more information, contact the Indian River State College Foundation at 772-462-4786.

Entrepreneurs of the Year

2019—Michael “Mike” Brown, Retired CEO Harbor Community Bank and Director, CenterState Bank

2018—Allen Osteen, East Coast Lumber

2017—Timothy Girard, Girard Equipment

2016—Scott Deal, Maverick Boat Group

2015—Bobby and Marygrace Sexton, Natalie's Orchid Island Juice Company

2014—Ronald L. Edwards, Evans Properties

2013—Thomas L. Corr, George E. Warren Corporation

2012—Jim Coffey*, Commercial Realtor and Developer, Earman Oil

2011—Dr. Richard A. Houghten, Torrey Pines Institute of Molecular Studies

2010—Alma Lee Loy, Alma Lee's Children's Clothing Center

2009—Frank "Sonny" W. Williamson, Jr., Williamson Cattle Company

2008—Vernon D. Smith, Riverside Bank

2007—Donald C. Proctor, Proctor Construction Company

2006—Sidney M. Banack, Jr., Sid Banack Insurance

2005—John J. Schumann, Jr., Press Journal

2004—Barnette E.* and Hariot H. Greene*, Greene Groves and Ranch

2003—Alto "Bud" Adams, Jr.*, Adams Ranch

2002—Raymond J. Oglethorpe, America Online

2001—Robert L. Brackett, Credit Data Services

2000—Dan K. Richardson*, Gracewood Fruit Company


New version available REFRESH  DISMISS