Main Content Start

IRSC Recognizes Top Student Athletes, Inducts Dale Atkinson into the Pioneer Hall of Fame

IRSC Recognizes Top Student Athletes, Inducts Dale Atkinson into the Pioneer Hall of Fame

April 18, 2019 Robert Lane

Indian River State College (IRSC) recognized outstanding student contributions to the College’s Athletics program during the 2018-2019 season and inducted Dale Atkinson, IRSC softball coach into the Pioneer Hall of Fame at the annual Athletic Awards Banquet held in the Koblegard Student Union Thursday, April 18.

IRSC Softball Coach Dale Atkinson is the 2019 Pioneer Hall of Fame Inductee.

Indian River Pioneer Pride Award:
Awarded to a member of each athletic team, the Pioneer Pride Award honors IRSC student athletes for their demonstration of outstanding sportsmanship throughout the season.

Baseball: Cole Brutcher
Men's Basketball: Charlie Daniels
Women's Basketball: Angelica Flores
Softball: Dawn Bodrug
Men's Swimming and Diving: Jared Ingram
Women's Swimming and Diving: Gabriella Tolento
Volleyball: Lindsay Glynn

VanDuzer Sportsmanship Award:
The VanDuzer Foundation Sportsmanship Award highlights community support of IRSC student athletes with recognition for their exceptional goal to succeed while demonstrating outstanding sportsmanship throughout the season.

Baseball: Matthew Logullo
Men's Basketball: Marc Syle
Women's Basketball: Kiandra Hooks
Softball: Lillie Rodriguez
Men's Swimming and Diving: Tucker Adams
Women's Swimming and Diving: Adriana Rodriguez
Volleyball: Rebecca Sills  

Community Service Award:
The IRSC Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving Team is the recipient of the 2018-19 IRSC Community Service Award. This award is presented to the IRSC athletics team for their demonstration of exemplary community service projects and exhibits the greatest spirit of community involvement. The award is not based on the number of projects completed, but emphasizes the impact projects make in the community within the College's service district.

The 2019 Pioneer Hall of Fame Inductee:
Dale Atkinson is the 2019 Indian River State College Pioneer Hall of Fame Inductee. In 1975, Atkinson graduated from Martin County High School in Stuart, Florida. He then began work at his family’s nursery business and then purchased his own company in 1982, where he served as the President for nineteen years.

After the sale of his business in 2002, Atkinson returned to school and earned his Associate in Applied Science in Business Administration degree, with Honors, from IRSC. He continued his education completing his Bachelor of Science in Social Science with a minor in Business at Florida Atlantic University in 2005 and earning Masters of Education in Coaching and Athletic Administration from Concordia University of Irvine in 2013.

In 1998 Atkinson came to IRSC to serve as the Softball team’s Head Coach. While serving as coach at IRSC 208 players have been named All-Southern Conference, 79 have been named FCSAA All-State, and 27 have been named NJCAA All-American players. The team earned one NJCAA National Championship in 2002, three FCSAA State/Region VIII Championships in 2002, 2004, and 2005 and 16 Southern Conference Championships.

Atkinson has also served as Head Coach of the Fillies Fast-Pitch softball program. In his five years with the Fillies, the teams won the 1996 ISA National Championship Tournament and the 1997 NSA Florida State Championship. Additionally, numerous players from the Fillies earned scholarships to play college softball, and four former players earned NCAA All-American nominations at their respective universities.

Dale currently resides in Palm City, Florida with his wife Denise, who is also an IRSC alumna.

New version available REFRESH  DISMISS