Main Content Start

IRSC Campus Coalition Government Presents Awards, Elects New Officers for 2019-2020

IRSC Campus Coalition Government Presents Awards, Elects New Officers for 2019-2020

April 23, 2019 Robert Lane

Indian River State College (IRSC) students and faculty were recognized for their leadership, community outreach, and especially for their contributions in developing a dynamic and engaging campus environment for students at the 2019 Campus Coalition Government (CCG) Awards Banquet. The program celebrated the people behind the more than 70 student clubs, organizations, and athletic teams at IRSC and hard work and the initiative of the outgoing CCG executive board.

Students and faculty celebrate at the 2019 CCG Awards Banquet.

Dr. Heather Adams, Associate Professor, Public Service Education, and co-advisor to the Human Services Club, was presented with the Harriett Kirk Crago Faculty of the Year Award. This prestigious recognition is bestowed upon an instructor, nominated by students, who has exhibited expertise in the classroom and warmth and enthusiasm that has significantly enhanced the quality of life at IRSC.

Also awarded at this year’s CCG banquet:

  • RiverLife Achievement Award—Human Services Club
  • Outstanding CCG Representative—Melanie Reyes
  • Outstanding Community Service—Alpha Phi Sigma Criminal Justice Honor Society, who shared time, talents, and/or resources with the community in an exceptional manner.
  • Rising Star Nursing Student Association who made significant improvements in their club structure, and their involvement and promotion of CCG activities.
  • Pioneer Impact Award—Collegiate DECA
  • IRSC Pride Award—Caring through Crafting
  • Hart” Award—Professor Arlene Green as the person that always has the time to listen and who possesses the knowledge and ability to guide and care for students of IRSC.
  • Individual Impact Award—Jennifer Lewis, in recognition of her academic excellence and demonstrated ability as a leader and role model.
  • Club Advisor of the Year—Dr. Kimberlie Massnick who went above and beyond for the Criminal Justice Club and for her support and encouragement of the success of CCG.
  • Unsung Pioneers—Officer Dennis McWilliams, Professor Kendra Auberry, and Christy Freeman
  • President’s Award—Joshua Pinnock as the organization president who most effectively promoted his or her organization’s purpose and supported the overall success of CCG.
  • Club of the Year—Alpha Phi Sigma Criminal Justice Honor Society for earning the most CCG points due to participation in community service, school involvement, educational development and other IRSC programs.

At the conclusion of the event, incoming CCG Executive Board officers took the oath of office for the 2019–2020 service year:

  • Arturo Reynoso, President
  • Eric Jjombwe, Vice President
  • Michelle Dyer, Secretary
  • Jacqueline Zamora, Treasurer
  • Michele Vergho, Parliamentarian
New version available REFRESH  DISMISS