Main Content Start

IRSC Students Make 2020 All-Florida Academic Team, Massey Recognized for His Support of Student Success

IRSC Students Make 2020 All-Florida Academic Team, Massey Recognized for His Support of Student Success

March 27, 2020 Kelly Hogan

Eleven high achieving Indian River State College (IRSC) students were selected for the 2020 All-Florida Academic Team, and Dr. Edwin Massey, IRSC President, was recognized for his unwavering support of student success as recipient of the Bennet Lifetime Achievement Award. The distinctions were conferred by the Florida College System during an awards ceremony held in St. Petersburg on Friday, March 6.

Members of the IRSC All-Florida Academic Team.

Pictured from left to right: Dr. Edwin Massey, IRSC President; Gavin Joyce, Leah Dunn, Crystal Mitchell, Sarah Boyle, Emily Phillips (back), Olivia Nicholas (front), Giana Reyes, Eric Jjombwe, and Rochelle Popp-Finch, IRSC Director of Student Development. Not pictured: Savanna Best, Neydi Hernandez, and Dorian Moure.

The IRSC students were selected for their outstanding academic achievement, leadership, and service to their communities. Each possess a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average, and most are members of Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

Recipients include Emily Phillips of Port St. Lucie; Sarah Boyle of Vero Beach; Dorian Moure of Sebastian; Leah Dunn of Longwood; Olivia Nicholas of Crystal River; Gavin Joyce of Biloxi, Mississippi; Crystal Mitchell of Jersey City, New Jersey; Neydi Hernandez of Westbury, New York; Gianna Reyes of Maracaibo, Venezuela; of Capetown, South Africa; and Eric Jjombwe of Kampala, Uganda.

“It is a great honor to recognize this group of outstanding students and their commitment to excellence in academics, leadership and service to the community,” shared Dr. Edwin Massey, IRSC President. “These individuals are a tribute to student success at IRSC, and I look forward to following their future scholastic and professional endeavors.”

During the awards ceremony, Leah Nicole Dunnat, IRSC student and Bright Futures scholar, spoke about the impact of her Bright Futures scholarship, and presented the Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award to Massey. The award acknowledges Massey’s support of student success demonstrated by his recognition of academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students over the course of his college career. The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Michael Bennett, longtime president of St. Petersburg College in Florida. Recipients are nominated by the students on their campus.

New version available REFRESH  DISMISS