Main Content Start

IRSC Celebrates Outstanding Adjunct Faculty

IRSC Celebrates Outstanding Adjunct Faculty

March 31, 2021 Melanie Coppola

Indian River State College (IRSC) celebrated the accomplishments and contributions of its Adjunct Faculty on March 5 with the Adjunct Faculty Awards and Recognition Ceremony. The event provides the College an opportunity to celebrate and thank IRSC Adjunct Faculty for the outstanding work they do for their students.

The 2021 IRSC Adjunct Faculty Award Winners

“We are honored to celebrate our Adjunct Faculty members, as they are a vital part of the success of IRSC and its delivery of quality education,” stated Dr. Heather Belmont, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, C.A.O. “We are grateful for all of their hard work and unwavering dedication to IRSC and its students year-round.”

The event is highlighted by a special recognition where one Adjunct Faculty member from each Division is named Adjunct Faculty of the Year. Nominees for this honor are selected by the department chairs within academic divisions at the College.  Below are the winners of each Division’s Adjunct Faculty of the Year:

  • Advanced Technology Division—Sean van Zyl (Fort Pierce, FL), Digital Media and Graphic Design.
  • Business Technology—Matthew Boucher (Celebration, FL), Accounting.
  • Health Sciences—Michelle Keim (Fort Pierce, FL), Medical Assisting.
  • Industrial Education Division—Diana “Dee” Garrett (Fort Pierce, FL), GED.
  • Liberal Arts—Mary L. Mosley, Ed.D. (Port St. Lucie, FL), English.
  • Math and Natural Sciences—William “Lee” Tinker (Port St. Lucie, FL), Physical Sciences.
  • Public Service Education Division—Leigh Clay, Ph.D. (Port St. Lucie, FL), Criminal Justice.
  • School of Education—Jason Albert (Vero Beach, FL), Performing and Visual Arts.

About Indian River State College

A leader in education and innovation, Indian River State College transforms lives by offering high-quality, affordable and accessible education to the residents of Florida’s Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee, and St. Lucie counties through traditional and online delivery. IRSC is recipient of the 2019 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence, nation’s signature recognition of high achievement and performance among America’s community colleges. The College serves nearly 30,000 students annually and offers more than 100 programs leading to Bachelor’s degrees, Associate degrees, technical certificates and applied technology diplomas. Learn more at

New version available REFRESH  DISMISS