Main Content Start

Indian River State College Wins 2024 D1 World Series Title

Indian River State College Wins 2024 D1 World Series Title

May 26, 2024 Indian River State College

FORT PIERCE, FLA. – The Indian River State College Softball team etched the Pioneers’ name into the NJCAA history books, winning the 2024 NJCAA Division I Softball World Series. The Pioneers emerged victorious from the elimination bracket and defeated the tournament’s top-seeded team, McLennan, twice at Choccolocco Park in Oxford, Alabama.

IRSC Softball Champions

The Indian River State Pioneers secured the coveted national title, after a hard-fought 6-5 triumph, followed by a decisive 3-0 victory. Their extraordinary World Series win culminated in a stellar 57-10 record (.851 winning percentage) for the season.

The triumph marks the second time the Indian River State College Softball team has captured the national championship, with their previous title dating back to 2002. The team’s World Series win followed their win of the Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA) Softball Championship in May.

“Congratulations to the Indian River State College softball team on an amazing season culminating with the Division I World Series title,” said Dr. Timothy Moore, Indian River State College president. “Coach Atkinson and the players showed tremendous teamwork, determination, and skill to bring home the win. We are so proud of them. The entire college community celebrates this team and their extraordinary accomplishment!”

“This is a very special group, and they worked incredibly hard to win the World Series,” said Indian River State College head coach Dale Atkinson. “I couldn’t be prouder of this team, whose remarkable performance on the field shows their tremendous heart and talent.”

Indian River State’s J’Dah Girigorie was named Pitcher of the Tournament and MVP. Girigorie threw 43.2 innings in the World Series and struck out 50 batters. She also had a 1,000 fielding percentage and three hits. Adrianna Portanova was named Tournament Most Outstanding Player. Indian River State’s Dale Atkinson earned the Karen L. Sykes Coach of the Tournament.

Season highlights include the following:

  • The Pioneers achieved 57 wins this season, marking the most in two decades and a historic milestone for the program.
  • With 287 stolen bases, the team led the nation, highlighted by Cassidy Patterson’s state-leading 76 stolen bases.
  • The Pioneers recorded 447 strikeouts, the highest in the nation, with J'dah Girigorie contributing an impressive 311 strikeouts to lead the state.
  • Four players were named to the World Series All-Tournament Team: Presley Smith, Adrianna Portanova, Cassidy Patterson, and J'dah Girigorie.
  • Two players were honored as NFCA All-Americans, with J'dah Girigorie earning a 1st Team spot and Cassidy Patterson making the 2nd Team.
  • The team secured their 4th state title in the program's history.
  • This season, the Pioneers celebrated their 2nd national title in the program's history.

Click here to learn more about Indian River State College Softball.

New version available REFRESH  DISMISS