Main Content Start

Volleyball Team Named Academic All-Stars

Volleyball Team Named Academic All-Stars

January 24, 2019 Kelly Hogan

Members of the Indian River State College (IRSC) Women’s Volleyball team were named Academic All-Stars for achieving the highest grade-point average (GPA) for any athletic team at the College during the Fall 2018 semester. The 15-member team earned an average 3.60 GPA. This marks the sixth consecutive year that the Volleyball team has earned the coveted recognition.

The IRSC Women’s Volleyball team receives the annual Skull Award as the 2018 Academic All-Stars. Team members earned an average 3.60 GPA.

"The ‘Academic All-Stars' designation recognizes the importance of academic achievement for athletes, and I'm proud to see our volleyball team receive this academic honor," said IRSC Athletic Director Scott Kimmelman.

The team thrived under the leadership of Head Coach Stephanie Skidmore and Assistant Coaches Tony Glessner and Rob Griffiths. Members Lindsay Glynn, Jenna Erwin, Rebecca Sills and Jada Bivins were designated to the 1st Team All Southern Conference team, while McKenna Tyson and Jacki Schmitz were designated to the 2nd Team All Southern Conference team. Glynn was also named to the FCSAA/NJCAA Region 8 team and FCSAA/NJCAA Region 8 Tournament team.

The names and hometowns of the IRSC Volleyball team members are: Taylor Leander, Fort Pierce; Erin Ergle, Avannah Henry and Sydney Oglesby, Port St. Lucie; Lindsay Glynn, Caitlyn Leadabrand and Rebecca Sills, Stuart; Brittany Beckelheimer, Hialeah; Valentina Beltran, Kissimmee; Jada Bivins, Riviera Beach; Jenna Erwin, Orange Park; McKenna Tyson, Tampa; Essi Penttinen, Valkeala, Finland; Flavia Rusterholz, Rapperswil, Switzerland; and Jackie Schmitz, Munster, Germany.

New version available REFRESH  DISMISS