Main Content Start

IRSC Launches Presidential Search, Seeks Search Committee Membership

IRSC Launches Presidential Search, Seeks Search Committee Membership

November 22, 2019 Suzanne Seldes

FORT PIERCE, FL—At its November District Board of Trustees meeting, members of the Indian River State College (IRSC) District Board of Trustees announced the formation of a Presidential Search Committee, the first step toward recruiting its next President. In October, Dr. Edwin Massey, the College’s third president, informed the Board that he would not seek contract extension. His term ends August 31, 2020. 

Indian River State College

The Board appointed Trustee Vicki Davis (Martin County) as Chairperson of the Search Committee, and Trustee Sandra Krischke (St. Lucie County) as Co-Chair.

The Presidential Search Committee will represent the diversity of the Indian River State College population and the College’s service district of Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee and St. Lucie counties. Membership will be comprised of the IRSC District Board of Trustees, IRSC Foundation Board Members, community members, and IRSC Faculty, Staff, Administration and Student representatives.

The District Board of Trustees will immediately consider nominations of individuals to serve as members of the Committee. Interested individuals should review the Search Committee criteria posted on the Presidential Search website, and submit their nomination no later than Monday, December 9, 2019.

Search Committee members must be able to commit significant time for meetings and activities related to developing posting materials and screening processes, reviewing candidates, participating in various listening sessions and recommending candidates to the District Board of Trustees. It is anticipated that the duration of service as a Search Committee member will commence early 2020 and conclude approximately September 2020. Training will be required and attendance at scheduled meetings will be mandatory, as is compliance with all related rules, statutes, and regulations.

Candidates must submit a single page letter that speaks to their qualifications based on the criteria noted above and why they are interested in participating on this committee. Those who would like to nominate another individual must provide the same information as noted above regarding qualifications in the same single page format and must also include an explanation regarding the reason why they are nominating the individual.

Nominations must be submitted via email to, no later than December 9, 2019.

About Indian River State College

A leader in education and innovation, Indian River State College (IRSC) transforms lives by offering high quality, affordable and accessible education to the residents of Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee and St. Lucie counties through traditional and online delivery. IRSC is recipient of the 2019 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence, nation’s signature recognition of high achievement and performance among America’s community colleges. The College serves nearly 30,000 students annually and offers more than 100 programs leading to Bachelor’s degrees, Associate degrees, technical certificates and applied technology diplomas.

Indian River State College is committed to maintaining a work and educational environment that embraces diversity and where no member of the college community is excluded from participation in, denied the benefits of, or subject to discrimination in any college program or activity based on: their race, ethnicity, national origin, color, religion, age, disability, sex, pregnancy status, sexual orientation, marital status, genetic information, or veteran status.  This commitment applies to employees, volunteers, students, and to the extent possible, to third parties, applicants for admission, applicants for employment, and the general public.

For more information, visit the IRSC website at

New version available REFRESH  DISMISS